Posted on

The Bear, The Piano, The Dog and The Fiddle – David Litchfield

Well, there is a new favourite in this reviewers house. My little five year old book tester was enthralled by this lovely tale of a loyal dog Hugo and his elderly owner Hector. As Hector stops playing his fiddle, Hugo takes up the job and becomes a sensation. There’s an emotional argument between the two, which nearly had my little dude in tears, and a possible reunion later in the book – at Bear’s concert tour – where he was upset that the dog may not want to see Hector again.

This, while another Bear and Piano book is definitely the story of the new characters, and is better for it. The temptation in childrens picture books is to repeat the formula ad nauseum, in the vein of Shark in the Park or Oi Frog, but this is a new tale that stands on it’s own.

As always David Litchfield’s artwork is breathtaking, detailed and emotional. The expressions of the characters are so vivid, and when combined with the gorgeous cityscapes and beautiful colour palette it’s a book that we already know will become a firm family favourite. It’s superceded our previous Litchfield illustrated favourite, the Spectacular City!